Blogroll: Keppie Careers

September 7, 2008 at 10:00 pm (2008) (, , , )

Miriam Salpeter of Keppie Careers left a fascinating and insightful comment in reply to one of my posts over at Brazen Careerist a few months ago, prompting me to check out her site for professional advice on the job search.

It had been nearly ten months since I started working for a temporary agency, attempting to pay the bills and gain additional work experience while I figured out how to achieve my goals. The job search was coming up empty, and when I did apply in a resume-sending blitz, it was half-hearted — despite my confidence in my skills, I knew that my chances for these opportunities were slim. I was frustrated and slowly beginning to admit defeat. I went to website after website, gathering advice on how to make myself more marketable, how to show people what I could offer, and although I made some changes and did some tweaking to my resume, even I knew it wasn’t enough.

After reading some of the free advice Miriam offers, I knew I had found someone who could point me in the right direction. Almost on instinct, I located Miriam’s contact information and sent her an email. I need help, I admitted to her. I knew I was doing something wrong, only I just couldn’t figure out what it was. She responded almost immediately with a gracious offer to take a look at my resume, which has resulted in valued advice and a complete transformation in both the document and my self-esteem. She is a remarkable communicator, which has only added to the pleasure of working with her and continuing our interactions.

Miriam’s business website offers free career advice and job hunting tips as well as examples of resumes that can guide your own transformation. The Keppie Careers Blog is an excellent source for additional resume, cover letter, and interview tips, as well as advice on how to take control of your own career. Miriam understands the frustration of the twenty-something trying to pursue a career and has devoted herself to helping others achieve their goals.

My correspondence with Miriam through Keppie Careers has resulted in not only a renewed determination in the pursuit of my career, but also in a remarkable transformation for both my resume and, perhaps most importantly, confidence in myself.

1 Comment

  1. Miriam Salpeter said,

    Susan,
    Thanks so much for your kind words. I am so pleased that I was able to help you. It was my pleasure! You’re a great writer and networker, and I know that your efforts will pay off for you.

    Miriam: It’s the least I can do, as it’s been a pleasure working with you and I truly appreciate and value all of your advice.

Leave a Reply

